Gujarat Titans win 'Royal' over Rajasthan

For Printing Download Epaper from files section from bottom of this page

Gujarat Titans win 'Royal' over Rajasthan

Won the title in his debut season

Navi Mumbai: The 15th season of the Indian Premier League T20 cricket tournament has got its winner. Gujarat Titans beat Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets in the final at the Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium in Ahmedabad. In their first season, Gujarat Titans lost to Rajasthan Royals in the final. Gujarat had entered the final by defeating Rajasthan in the qualifier 1 match. Rajasthan had beaten Royal Challengers Bangalore in two matches in Qualifier 2. The two teams that reached the final were considered equal. However, the Rajasthan team was not able to play to their liking.

Gujarat did not get off to a good start as they chased down the Rajasthan Royals' 131-run target. Opponent Rajasthan's hopes were dashed when opener Wriddhiman Saha and his successor Matthew Wade were immediately dismissed. However, captain Hardik Pandya and Shubhaman Gill put on more than 50 runs to put the team close to victory. Hardik Pandya was dismissed for 34 as the pair looked set to reach the title. Subsequently, David Miller, along with Shubhaman, helped the team win the IPL title.

Earlier, Rajasthan Royals skipper Sanju Samson won the toss and elected to bat first. However, his decision proved fatal for the team. The Rajasthan batsmen, who have done brilliantly in every match so far, threw sapshells in the final and crucial match. Gujarat Titans bowlers hit a penetrating shot that completely destroyed Rajasthan's batting. With the exception of Jose Butler (39), no other batsman has been able to match his world record.

Gujarat skipper Hardik Pandya broke Rajasthan's batting barrier. He took the most three wickets. They included explosive batsmen like Jose Butler, Sanju Samson and Shimron Heitmeyer. Sai Kishor took two wickets while Shami, Yash Dayal and Rashid Khan took one wicket each.

The Gujarat team was newly included in this year's IPL season. The Gujarat Titans have received a standing ovation for winning the title this season.