2022 assembly polls: Will BJP be able to break the jinx in Pratappur & Karchana seats

For Printing Download Epaper from files section from bottom of this page

2022 assembly polls: Will BJP be able to break the jinx in Pratappur & Karchana seats

PRAYAGRAJ : Throughout the Prayagraj region's long and rich political history, some of the 22 assembly constituencies have remained unwinnable for certain political parties despite all efforts. Even in circumstances, when there is a wave across the state in their favour. Polls may be held every five years, or even earlier, but the fate of these political parties on these Prayagraj region seats has remained unchanged. If the Pratappur and Karchana seats in Prayagraj district have eluded the BJP even during the height of the 1991 Ram Mandir and 2017 Nadrendra Modi waves, the seat of Allahabad North of Prayagraj has remained out of reach for the SP and BSP, with neither party ever winning from here.

According to political analyst and former vice-chancellor of Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University (UPRTOU) Prof MP Dubey, such seats exist even in neighbouring Pratapgarh and Kaushambi districts, which comprise the Prayagraj region. According to Election Commission of India records, Janata Dal's Vikram Jeet Maurya won the Pratappur seat in 1991, with the BJP's Satya Lal Maurya trailing far behind in fifth place. In the 1996 elections, BJP candidate Devraj Singh faced off against SP candidate Jokhulal Yadav for the Pratappur seat, but the BJP candidate had to settle for the runner up position.

Even in 2007, SP's Jokhulal Yadav won the seat in a direct contest with BSP's Sayeed Ahmed, with Congress' Shyam Surat Upadhyay and Apna Dal's Shyamlal Pal finishing third and fourth, respectively. Under the terms of the alliance agreement, the BJP gave this seat to its ally Apna Dal (S) in the 2017 elections. However, Karan Singh was defeated by Mohd Mujtaba Siddiqui of the BSP (now in SP and in fray from Phulpur seat). Similarly, the BJP's account in Karchana could never be opened. From 1996 to 2012, the SP and BSP competed for this seat in a face-to-face fight. Deepak Patel of the BSP won the seat in 2012, with SP's Ujjwal Raman Singh finishing second and BJP's Anamika Chaudhary finishing fourth.

In 2017, BJP candidate Piyush Ranjan Nishad did put up a close fight against SP candidate Ujjwal Raman Singh, but lost by more than 15,000 votes. Similarly, the Allahabad North assembly seat remains an enigma for the SP and BSP. Harshvardhan Bajpai, who contested as a BSP candidate in 2007 and 2012, finished second both times but won the seat in 2017, albeit on a BJP ticket. Some seats have remained unattainable for certain parties in the neighbouring district of Pratapgarh as well. The Bahujan Samaj Party has never won the Rampur Khas, Kunda, Patti, or Babaganj seats, and the Samajwadi Party has never won the Rampur Khas, Kunda, or Babaganj seats. Similarly, the SP candidate has never won the Chail and Manjhanpur seats in Kaushambi.