Vice President confers awards for Sangeet Natak Akademi & Lalit Kala Akademi

For Printing Download Epaper from files section from bottom of this page

Vice President confers awards for Sangeet Natak Akademi & Lalit Kala Akademi

New Delhi : Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu on Saturday presented fellowships and awards to eminent musicians and artistes.

Lalit Kala Akademi Award was given to 20 artistes and fellowships to 3 persons. Sangeet Natak Akademi Award was presented to 40 winners and 4 fellowships were also given. The award ceremony was a joint event held at Vigyab Bhawan.

Naidu awarded Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships to four personalities including Zakir Hussain, Jatin Goswami, Dr. Sonal Mansingh and Thiruvidaimarudur Kuppiya Kalyanasundaram for their remarkable contribution in the field of performing arts.

Apart from this, three outstanding artists Himmat Shah, Jyoti Bhatt and Shyam Sharma were awarded prestigious fellowships by Lalit Kala Akademi.

Union Culture Minister G. Kishan Reddy were also present. Speaking on the occasion, Vice President Naidu said, our artists have strengthened the thread of continuity, connecting our rich heritage with past with the present and the future.

It is our duty to preserve and promote our grand cultural traditions and various art forms. He said that artists dedicate their entire lives to perfecting their craft and hence it is important to recognize and honor their artistic endeavors. The Award of Excellence helps set a benchmark for other up-and-coming artists and helps in the promotion and restoration of those art forms.