Rajasthan finished second in the playoffs with a win

For Printing Download Epaper from files section from bottom of this page

Rajasthan finished second in the playoffs with a win

Mumbai : In the second match of the 15th edition of the IPL, played in a double header on Sunday (May 15), Rajasthan Royals defeated Lucknow Super Giants by 24 runs to reach the second position in the playoffs. They will now have to win the next match against Chennai to secure a place in the playoffs and will have to rely on other teams to advance to the other playoffs if they lose the match against Chennai.

In the 63rd match played at Mumbai's Brabourne Stadium, Rajasthan won the toss and elected to bat first. Rajasthan opener Joss Butler, who was in good form this time, was dismissed for just two runs, leaving Rajasthan at 11 for the first wicket. But then the Rajasthan batsmen made small contributions to take the score to 178 for 6 in the allotted 20 overs.

Rajasthan opener Yassvi Jaiswal top-scored with 41 off 29 balls with six fours and one six. After that Devdutt Padikkal played a stormy innings and scored 39 off 18 balls with the help of 5 fours and 2 sixes. Skipper Sanju Samson also contributed 32 runs. Ryan Parag (19), Jimmy Neesham (14), Trent Bolt (17) and R Ashwin (10) helped Rastan to add 178 runs. This time Ravi Bishnoi from Lucknow bowled 4 overs and took maximum 2 wickets. Apart from that, Awesh Khan, Jason Holder, Ayush Badoni got 1 wicket each.

Lucknow got off to a bad start as they chased down the challenge posed by Rajasthan. Lucknow were 3 for 29 in 5.3 overs. In the allotted 20 overs, Lucknow lost 8 wickets for 154 runs and lost by 24 runs. Deepak Hooda from Lucknow alone scored 59 runs off 39 balls with the help of 5 fours and 2 sixes; But he did not get the support of other batsmen. With the exception of Krinal Pandya (25) and Marcus Stoyanis (27), the other batsmen could not cross the 10 mark. Captain KL Rahul was dismissed for just 10 runs. From Rajasthan, Trent Bolt, Krishna and Obey McCoy took 2 wickets each. Yuzvendra Chahal and R Ashwin also got 1 wicket each.